I Rocked the Crazy Train! I Am Now in Pain.

I stand in front of the crowd. They jump and clap to my rocking notes, as I tap my foot and rock to the music. I am a Rock Goddess of the highest order, giving my crowd an amazing show. With sweat dripping down my face I end with a 5 star performance.

I take a bow, rip the guitar from around my neck and throw it to my audience.

My husband gets up from the sofa, and takes his turn at Guitar Hero. He has turned into Jim Morrison whIle I stumble onto the sofa snd collapse. The sweat is from  the central heating, cranked up to combat the dropping temperature. My staggering walk is due to increasing pain in my back and hip, along with the worst case of pins and needles in my foot and calf since I sat cross legged for too long at yoga once. 

Once avid fans of the pretend guitar, spending many a night with friends drinking beer and being rockstars together, it got relegated to the spaces in the eaves as parenting, work and other Real Life took over. I found it searching for something else just over a week ago, and since then R and I have played all the Gigs again, fought with Ted Nugent and won, and I fell in love with rock all over again. Not that I ever fell out of love – there have been many moments when I have driven in our family wagon singing to Rebel Yell, windows down, cranked up to full volume, it has just become secondary to the calmer tunes of Twinkle Little Star and Wind The Bobbin Up. Although, my children are rocking it out too now, even my two-almost-three year old Roo, and Bella is pretty damn good at Band on the Run. And they have mastered moshing around the living room.

I have achieved one of my Wish List items too this week, dancing around with Bella while R did his best impression of my favourite rock god Dave Grohl. Unfortunately my over zealous popping and moshing while ‘playing’ Ozzfest has resulted in several of my wish list items being unticked, namely the ‘walking without a limp or visible pain’ and ‘dancing with Bella.

R has said I might have to retire. Or at least play some of the more gentle tunes and remember that the nerve blocking meds have not fixed my back, they just pretend it doesn’t hurt any more.

He is only jealous that I can rock the fast notes better than him.

4 thoughts on “I Rocked the Crazy Train! I Am Now in Pain.

Leave a Reply

