Thankful Thursday: At Least I Can Walk

I can walk, despite my pain being quite high today. My left leg, from buttock to hip to calf, ankle and foot is a combination of ‘on fire’ a cracking snapping pain, a deep hard pain, pins and needles, numbness and tingling. All at once. My back, which has improved is now hurting again, and I have upped my tramadol dose despite having cut down to 50mg per day. It’s not doing a huge amount for the pain.

I have been to town with my friend, and tried to walk the pain off. And although it made it worse,  I have seen people in wheelchairs, and a person with a leg missing, several people struggling on crutches. I am reminding myself today that despite my pain and feeling sorry for myself, it is all relative and there are so many people worse off than me.

I am lucky that I am able to walk, that I can move independently, even if it is slow and laborious it is still movement that is my own. I have all my limbs and they are all working, even if not all correctly. I need to stop looking back at what I did have, and concentrate on what I have right now.

So today I am thankful that I can walk. As this is more than many people can do.

Leave a Reply

