It’s Been a While: I’ve Had a Micro-Discectomy and Other Things.

I have been silent. I have had writers’ block. I have had reduced pain. I buried my head in the sand and stopped wanting to talk about my bloody back pain; talk about a pain in the back. I have plodded, and managed with lower level pain. Not disappeared pain, but bearable ‘let’s pretend it’s ok’ pain. Stoic. Just waiting for a date for my L5/S1 Lumbar micro-discectomy.

I stopped taking Tramadol about a month ago. How about that? It’s been worrying me, using this drug, and I feel fine without it. Great in fact. It’s been R’s 40th birthday; we went out for wine tasting and I wore heels; we had a party/gathering and I wore Fly London Wedges. I looked fantastic that night with my new dress, new haircut (even if I say so myself, as did others), and red glowing sunburn; I drank alcohol as I had no opiates or nerve blockers in my system, and it was great as alcohol dulls pain; I got drunk; we went out for post partying breakfast and I struggled to bend down to pick something up from the floor. And that was the end of the ‘good phase’. I could not get out of the car coming back from breakfast and we holidayed in a yurt for the following five days, up a steep hill, with a LOT of painkillers and the lovely diazepam to keep me going. It was actually fab, but despite backpain (you got to just get on with these things right?).

On Tuesday, having returned from holiday to just one day’s work before going off sick again, the neurosurgeon’s secretary called me; “How would you like to have your surgery tomorrow morning?’

So, this is what happened

Tuesday 18th June in the morning, I was called by the secretary, a simple yes or no, she will call me back with details. In the afternoon I got the details of where I need to be and what time. A mad rush followed, sorting out new jimjams (didn’t bother), cleaning and drying my finest pants (I had to take em off, waste of effort) and supervising R cleaning the bedroom so it was lovely when I came home. We organised childcare etc and I spent a little bit of time trying to calm down a very worried little Summer Girl, ‘what if you sleep for too long mama? I don’t want you to go!’

On Wednesday 19th June at 6:20am I said goodbye to my tearful Summer Girl, my slightly nervous R, and a Winter Boy who wanted to wave at the mini cab taking me to the hospital – there was no point disturbing the children’s routine, and it was last minute so who could have them at that time in the morning? It wasn’t an emergency so R did school run as normal – by 6:45am I was stood in a queue of dozens of other people waiting for their ops. ‘Fucking Hell’ I thought, ‘I won’t be seen first that’s for sure.’

Wrong! At 7am I was booked in, 7:15am wristbands put on me, a million questions asked by a student nurse (including, ‘are you pregnant?’ about 10 times). At 7:25am I was seen by the Registrar who told me I would be having a bilateral micro-discectomy and I signed the consent forms. I changed into the very fetching gown and stockings provided, keeping my lovely clean M&S knickers on. At 7:45am I was seen by the anaesthetist who kindly let me know he will ensure I will be provided for drug wise when I wake up. Not reassuring, as that suggests I will be in a lot of pain! I missed seeing the Consultant as I was busy contemplating whether or not to keep my pants on as I got changed when he looked for me.

At 8:43am and having been told my neurosurgeon prefers his patients with their knickers off, I was answering the following important question in the anaesthetist’s room: What Makes a Perfect Manhattan?

Next thing I know, it was 12:30pm and I was fucking freezing lying on my side in the recovery room. Not for long, as I got warmed up by a lovely blanket thing that blew air all around me. (I need one for home, but apparently you can’t buy them).

AND NO PAIN IN MY LEGS!!!

Thursday at 3:30pm – I left the hospital, having been discharged as ready and desperate to get home, with one of my best friends in the world having brought me a proper take away coffee for the journey home.

I am still waiting for the pain to return. I have done too much today, and so am actually hurting a little, and in truth I do have a little pain in my legs, but it’s throbbing pain which I think may even be referred pain. There are no stabbing pains as I lay down or sit, so feelings that my leg will snap off, no pins and needles (a little fuzzing). There is some numbness in my toes and that might never go away, but. FUCKING YEY!

The Technical Bits

No fusion! I had a left sided decompression, instead of the anticipated bilateral decompression as the surgeon didn’t want to remove bone from both sides; he said this would leave my already unstable vertebra even more unstable and the risk of fusion would increase significantly. Apparently this means a slightly increased risk of right sided prolapse in the future and need for further surgery, but he felt that was a better risk than doing it now when right sided pain was minimal. I agree. Actually.

The incision is Tiny. Really tiny. Hardly even hurts.

I am moving! I am walking! I can’t sit for too long, or stand for too long. I have a granny seat on the loo. I am trying really hard not to do too much, but I feel…NORMAL! Apart from nagging pain, which is healing pain so it’s good pain.

A success! I do have to wait and see, as it’s still early days, but I am pleased with my microdiscectomy surgery!

The misaligned L5/S1 vertebra is a backwards misalignment and could have been caused by injury to the vertebrae.  The Clever Mumsnetter, DillyTante, uncovered the likely cause of my back trouble, especially as this is NOT degenerative in my case, and all information since continues to point toward this being right.

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a While: I’ve Had a Micro-Discectomy and Other Things.

Leave a Reply

