Too Much of a Good Thing

Oh dear. The start of my new eating habit has not gone so well. I was possibly a bit over-enthusiastic yesterday.

I returned from the supermarket armed with tasty goodies and the intention of both working towards increasing the ‘anti-inflammatory foods’ I eat and increasing my  shrinking appetite. I bought chocolate soya milk for random drinking, sweetened soya milk for morning porridge and fruit coulis, frozen blueberries, the ‘superfood’, to go with the already bought frozen raspberries. I also bought a ton of sunflower seeds, soya beans, dried cranberries, dried mango, dried something else yummy looking, those dried carrot and beetroot crisps. R bought popcorn, making some lentil weaving comment. Wow I hear you say, Go Girl.

Well, I did go for it. I had a big glass of chocolate soya milk while putting the seeds and dried fruit into pots, and ate several handfuls of them as I went along. Followed by eating beetroot and carrot crisps while nestled on the sofa with the children while waiting for the yummy honey glazed pork, spinach mash and cabbage to be served, which I then ate all of.

2 hours later, as I sat on the loo, doubled over with cramps, with a pale flushed face and unsure if I should be sitting there or kneeling on the floor, I wondered if the pudding of soya milk and fruit smoothie was just a little Too Much of a Good Thing. Or maybe it was the two handfuls of popcorn that followed pudding…

The children will now be having dried fruit/nuts in their lunch boxes for a while.

Leave a Reply

