Tonight My Husband and I Are Sleeping in Position No.2

There is no noise. It is hushed as my children settle down to sleep. After getting up several times as they often do when their daddy goes out for the evening. Playing Up  – isn’t that how the Behavioural Books scientifically refer to it?

Then I hear the tiny ‘th-th-th’ of gentle creeping footsteps on the deep soft carpet that leads to the loft room which is Mummy and Daddy’s Bedroom. The bright pink door (used to be Summer Girl’s Room) swings open and there in the dark of the doorway, silhouetted by the hallway light stands my two-almost-three-year old Winter Boy, one hand rubbing his eyes. He casually walks over to me at the computer desk and announces ‘I can’t get myself to sleepees, I tried an I jus can’t do it’. ‘do you want me to tuck you back in?’ ‘noo. I really can’t get to sleepees. I wan to sleep witchuw’ he says in his sing-song, Cant-Be-Resisted voice. I never let him sleep in my bed first thing at night. Not unless he is ill or R is away, then sometimes I do and then he stays there all night. Usually though I tuck him back in to his own bed and stroke his hair. And Repeat.

This evening, I look at him and my heart melts. How can I resist that little coy smile and angelic voice?  I say ‘quickly, get into bed and go straight to sleep, I don’t want to hear a peep ok?’. Before I even finish my sentence he has scampered across the bedroom, onto MY side of the bed I note, jumps into bed, tucks himself up neatly in the duvet and smiles sweetly at me. I walk over to kiss him goodnight. He does not fuss or fidget, but unusually lies completely still. By the time I return from popping down to turn Winter Girl’s light off, he has both arms spread eagle, one hanging over the side of the bed and is gently snoring, in a deep, happy sleep. It has taken him less than 2 minutes to go from standing by me to fast asleep in exactly the same position as when he climbed in. Why does he look far more content there than he ever looks in his own bed? And did I say it was My Side?

R is going to be less impressed than I was, when he returns home later. He will need to make a decision whether to wake a sleeping boy and somehow get him into bed without him waking and realising what crime is being committed against him, adopt The Position Number Two, or accept that through the course of the night Winter Boy will likely assume most of The Positions. Unless he finds himself in Position Number Two that is.

Maybe I should make up the spare bed now…

8 thoughts on “Tonight My Husband and I Are Sleeping in Position No.2

  1. That was a lovely post. I often end up with a Roo in my bed too. But usually around 5 am. He finds it hard to drift off if he’s in with me. He likes the door shut and no distraction – unlike his sister who still at 11 wants to sleep with someone, preferably stroking her hair or rubbing her back!

    So what happened? was it position 2?

    • Not position 2 in the end. He went to his own bed as he kept kicking me in the head doing a multiple of all positions and almost falling out of the bed 😀 but back in at 5am, like your Roo. That is his usual time. Lovely that your daughter loves bed and hair strokes. I hope it lasts here.

  2. So sweet. Our two year old woke up the other morning at 5.30am and we tried to get her back to sleep in our bed. No luck. Only result was the next morning, when she woke up, she kept pointing to the door and wailing, “Daddy’s bed! Daddy’s bed!”
    Ah well. I am assured it won’t be long until they’re teenagers and we won’t be able to get them out of bed…. *doubtful*

Leave a Reply

