Why My Winter Boy Can’t Hug Me Right Now

My back has ‘gone’ for the millionth time. I am moving, but it is painful. R has just gone to do the rest of the Christmas shopping. My Summer Girl is happily colouring.

My Just 3 Winter Boy is in a happy, lovely, cuddly mood. But, he is not in a still, quiet, calm, cuddly mood, but the type that has him climbing all over me being a cat – he is twisting over my back, hanging off my neck and laying across me – normally it would be wonderful. But, right now I am having to keep asking him to stop and be still, and as he can’t, to sit next to me. He simply won’t stop.

I remind myself that this will not affect him negatively in the long term, but how can it not? How can he possibly understand that sometimes mummy loves snuggles and a little rough and tumble love, but sometimes not? It’s inconsistent. And yes I tell him it is because my back is feeling poorly, but he just does not understand that, or rather, yes he understands I have a painful back, but does not make the connection between that and jumping on me.

And it hurts me so much.

Leave a Reply

