A Little Bit of Positive

After my miserable ramblings last night I have some good news. Well, I had that news yesterday but it did not feel so great at the time of my posting as I was wallowing!

Yesterday morning I got a call from the hospital, or rather their outsourced team, to offer me a short notice MRI on saturday (tomorrow). How about that! So, 9:20am and I will be thrust into a huge metal tunnel for 20 mins. I quite enjoyed it last time, gave me a chance to relax without children jumping on me!

It will take about 10 days or so to get the results in, and Mr P the Spinal Pathway practitioner has to then speak to the neurosurgeon and spinal orthopaedic surgeon about the results, so I am not expecting any appointments for at least a month. But, it’s closer than it was last week.

I am in a strange way, pleased that I am in the middle of an acute phase of pain as maybe it will show more than last time. I have been so concerned that they will do the MRI when things are more settled and it won’t show the severity of what I am experiencing. Mr P himself said it is better to do an MRI in the acute phase but due to waiting times it doesn’t often happen. He said the ideal was, an MRI immediately before it ‘goes’ and then an MRI in the middle of it all, and then one when it has improved, to get a good idea of what happens inside the spine area so, I guess this is as close to that happening as it will ever be.

I still don’t understand why no x-rays are being done, or CAT scans, as these show the facet joints and any damage there more clearly than an MRI and he has said there is some chance it is facet joint  related. If the MRI shows less than the pain suggests is going on I will insist on a CAT scan/X-ray. But, we are moving forward, even if it is at a snail’s pace.

One thought on “A Little Bit of Positive

  1. Hi, hope you get some answers soon. You may already have read it but in Sarah Key’s ‘Back Sufferers Bible’ book there is a chapter (Chpt 3, P 85) on Facet Joint Arthropathy which may make interesting reading whilst you wait on your results? Good luck

Leave a Reply

