Lost. Series 1 Million.

I have been lost with the direction of my blog for a little while. Coinciding with the whole ‘why do you blog?’ discussion which has generated a lot of thought-provoking posts, and the revelation of how my lumbar disc came to be in such poor shape, I saw myself plummet into a vicious cycle of back pain and puking which I struggled to break. Hovering on the brink of hospitalisation and continued dilemma about whether to take yet more nerve blocking, brain numbing medicine, I have gone through turmoil mentally and physically and found myself with so much I wanted to talk about on my blog, yet struggled with words to write it all down. I think this may a classic case of Writer’s Block, although possibly Writer’s Overload is more accurate. So, I said nothing. I could not even find the words to respond to the great Blog Hops and Memes I have been asked to contribute to.  I have broken the cycle and am back on track, but my blog has been neglected.

What is the point of my blog? Honestly, I am no longer sure. I had wanted it to be an outlet for my thoughts, fears, pain, struggles with parenting. But also to maybe be a place of sanctuary for others who suffer with chronic pain, to reach out and know I am not alone, and to tell others they are not alone. To provide useful information that may help others who are starting to bang their heads against the colossal brick wall that is the medical world, the brick wall of ignorance and confusion that is spinal care. To drink wine and vent my frustrations with this horrendous place I continue to find myself locked within.

Have I achieved any of it? My first response is ‘No’.  But then, thinking about some of the things I want to achieve, actually, yes. I have met with some fabulous people, some who have never experienced chronic pain yet place themselves in my shoes and offer support and encouragement. I have met some brave, courageous people who have been in my shoes and are coming out the other side, and have been willing to share their stories with me and give me hope for my own future. I have gained a huge amount from it.  However, I am not sure that I have offered anything back, I have taken, but not given. And that feels very one-sided. It is not what my purpose was, I know that much.

The purpose now? I need to think. I am Lost. Once I find some order to my thoughts, maybe I can start to write them down again. I am going to write less, and read more.

 

2 thoughts on “Lost. Series 1 Million.

  1. I think writing a blog is a fluid process and very much subject to change of direction. It doesn’t have to have a clear singular purpose. If the purpose at the moment of writing it is simply to get it out of your head then that’s enough!

    It is something I am struggling with at the moment but I’m trying not to put too much pressure on myself and just let it flow to whatever it will be.

    As long as you’re enjoying the process that’s all that matters!

Leave a comment