Ode to Kicking This Shit

I wish I did not have back pain

I wish it went away

But it’s not going anywhere

It’s certainly here to stay

I think I’m finding ways to cope

and then it all goes wrong

I get respite but spend that time

waiting for it to all go wrong

I’ve had the most amazing christmas

despite enduring pain

but each morning I wake and fear

what that day will bring again

my days are getting harder

my world has changed and so

my life is never again going to be

the one I used to know

I have never had a year

with so many tears to fight

but I will keep going, I have no choice

but to fight this with all my might.

10 thoughts on “Ode to Kicking This Shit

  1. Remember you are not alone in this….we all have to get up every day and fight and do the best we can. I think the hardest thing are the days when there are so many things you want to get done and then the pain gets in the way and it’s frustrating. Hang in there, you are doing the best you can 🙂

  2. I’m so so sorry that u have to battle this horendous pain. Although different I’m an insomniac so its an internal pain but feel what you say with the waking every day. My thoughts and prayers are with you and hope things get better soon. Happy Christmas x

    • Wine helps! 😉 but unfortunately, I have gone right off alcohol, which is quite disastrous, although, possibly not as disastrous as if I drank too much wine along with the medical counter I consume each day ! Thank you for your kind thoughts. x

  3. I love this~ You are so creative! Poems can be the best way to describe pain. I often write short poems as a mini pain diary, and it helps me get through the emotional and physical pain. I look forward to reading more of your blog. – Meg, On Your Nerves Blog

    • oh thank you, I really don’t think it is creative! just couldn’t think of how else to write how I felt, and had just read Winter Boy some Dr Seuss poems. Just had rhyms in my head I think! I might try some more

Leave a comment